About the Position


The Chancellor is the titular head of the university. Alongside the President, and the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Governing Council, the Chancellor represents the university to the external community. 

  • The Chancellor is an advocate for the vision of the university, as it is articulated by the President and endorsed by the Governing Council.
  • The Chancellor plays an essential ambassadorial role in advancing the university’s interests within the local, provincial, national and international arenas.
  • Under the University of Toronto Act, the Chancellor serves as chair of Convocation and confers all degrees.
  • The Chancellor is an ex officio member of the Governing Council.


The Chancellor will be a distinguished Canadian with a record of demonstrated excellence in their chosen field and in service to the community.  

The Chancellor will be an individual whose reputation and experience will assist the Chair of the Governing Council and the President in opening doors both nationally and internationally.


The Chancellor is elected by the College of Electors. The Chancellor will serve for a term of three years, commencing on July 1 the year they are elected and will hold office until their successor is elected.  

The Chancellor is eligible for re-election for one additional three-year term.

Past Chancellors

On March 15, 1827, the University of Toronto, then called “King’s College,” was granted its royal charter by King George IV.  

In the years since, a series of Chancellors have helped guide the university through dramatic events including the admission of women in the 1880s, two world wars, the student protests of the 1960s and 1970s, and the pandemic of the early 2020s, while supporting its development as one of the world’s great institutions of higher education and advanced research.

  • 2018–2024

  • 2012–2018

  • 2006–2012

  • 2003–2006

  • 1997–2003

  • 1991–1997

  • 1986–1991

  • 1980–1986

  • 1977–1980

  • 1974–1977

  • 1971–1974

  • 1965–1971

  • 1959–1965

  • 1953–1959

  • 1947–1953

  • 1944–1947

  • 1924–1944

  • 1923–1924

  • 1900–1923

  • 1876–1900

  • 1863–1876

  • 1863

  • 1856–1863

  • 1853–1856

  • 1850–1852